ALBUM REVIEW- The Prototypes ‘City of Gold’

To get more of the very latest news faster than anyone then subscribe to our feed : CLICK HERE

Label: Viper Recordings

Cat: VPRLP010

Released: 17th May 2015

Available from: iTunes : Beatport : Spotify : Viper Shop CD & Vinyl Bundles

Words: J Swif

They say good things come to those who wait and in this case it is absolutely true. The most anticipated album in a long time is finally here, The Prototypes with their debut album out on the ever innovative Viper Recordings hits all the right spots at the right times. Throughout the album it is gloriously apparent that much thought, hard work, determination and creativity has gone in to the LP.

Starting off proceedings with the title track City of Gold which reaches synthesized epic proportions and sets the pace for the LP before the mysterious Trinidad and Tobago artist Mad Hed City unleashes the fury with Pop it Off, a track that almost did not make the album. It would have been a damn shame to deprive the world of Pop it Off.



Kill the silence featuring Ayar Marah is a high energy club orientated piece with driving synth riff and punchy bass that is bound to get many a dance floor jumping and singing along. It is no wonder the Prototypes had 3 of the top 10 selling D&B tracks of 2014 with production like this.

Next up their hit from 2012 Abyss gets an overhaul with Abyss 2015 and achieves a more mature, energetic and clean version that tech heads will love. As Abyss fades out, in comes The Edge of tomorrow with with euphoric feeling and awesome vocal before setting a half tempo barrage of bass and dub snares upon the masses.

The Prototypes cited Fallen which features Donae’O as the track they were most excited about on the album, it is not difficult to see why. The track is a total departure from want you would expect and was definitely a risk worth taking as the vocals sit perfectly with the rolling breakbeat, subtle guitar and piano arrangement. This is one track you can expect to be getting mainstream radio airplay in the not too distant future.


Going back into club mode, the well known and loved Pale Blue Dot which set up home on the Beatport D&B chart’s number 1 position last year made the album and is a welcome addition for those that like driving bass technical excellence.

If there was album that effortlessly switches from club to festival mode then City of Gold is it. Is it Love featuring Laconic starts with the soulful strings and epic vocal before dropping with the most uplifting hook that will have hands in the air at this years festivals, most of which The Prototypes are playing at which is lucky! Another one for NASS fest and the like is the already well known piano driven Don’t Let Me Go featuring the powerful Amy Pearson on lead vocals before the album goes into The Journey Continues, a short but beautifully euphoric piece. Damn, even the interludes are epic on this album!

Redose takes us in another direction deep in the underground with a techno influenced dub styled piece which later goes all Kraftwerk on us and shows off the Prototypes willingness to try other styles and win!

Humanoid is definitely one for the clubs, bass heavy, snare snappy, definitely one for the techy steppers and once again shows the guys diversity which is present thoughout the LP. Try to keep your head from nodding when listening to this one. See, you can’t can you?

As the album draws to a close, the best is left to last and features Prototype Chris Garvey himself performing the perfectly moving vocal on Slip Away as a dedication to his mother. By far the most emotional track on the album and one that people will remember.

Overall, the difficult balance to produce such a varied long player that works well is a hard task to master, thankfully The Prototypes have hit this one out of the park with their debut and will no doubt leave the listener wanting more.


Track of the album: Slip Away

DBHQ Exclusive interview with The Prototypes


The Prototypes are currently traveling the world on a ‘City Of Gold’ album tour which has included their album launch at Electric Brixton in London and Coalition in their home town of Brighton as part of a 50+ date tour.

Full tour dates on their official website:


  1. City Of Gold
  2. Pop It Off (feat. Mad Hed City)
  3. Under (feat. Ayak)
  4. Kill The Silence (feat. Ayah Marar)
  5. Abyss 2015
  6. Edge Of Tomorrow
  7. Fallen (feat. Donae’o)
  8. Pale Blue Dot
  9. Is It Love (feat. Laconic)
  10. Don’t Let Me Go (feat. Amy Pearson)
  11. The Journey Continues
  12. Redose
  13. Humanoid
  14. Slip Away

The post ALBUM REVIEW- The Prototypes ‘City of Gold’ appeared first on Drum and Bass

Read the original article from Drum and Bass